7
Apr
2008

Not funny: Chinese fur farms

I've never been pro-fur but I was never really against it either. I guess I usually find myself in a grey neutral place trying not to judge people too much, and this was the case with animal fur.

But I knew I wouldn't wear it. Never. Not me. And after watching this video (which I didn't entirely...I couldn't) I am pretty much against it. At least against fur coming from Chinese fur farms.

I guess there is a big difference between fur coming from animals being practically tortured to fur coming from animals who are being...how to say it..."well treated"...it's hard to be completely ok with animals being killed, but it's pretty common. For meat, all the time...and we eat it, don't think about it. And I guess that if you kill an animal at least you should get as much as you can from it, including fur if possible. This sounds cruel, but that's the only way this is somehow acceptable.

I struggled with the idea of posting this video on my blog. When I say I couldn't watch all of it, I mean it. I wanted to cry and puke at the same time. It really gets to you.

Maybe posting it is fair to those animals.


Pledge to go fur-free at PETA.org
timanfaya - 10. Apr, 01:32

... what do we expect from countries who give a shit on human rights?! surrounded by a life like captain kirk the small privileged group to which i belong often forget that many places on this planet are still staying in the darkest middle age.

rocio - 11. Apr, 11:20

i know...it's easier to forget or look away. i mean...you deserve to be happy. everyone does. i sometimes wish i could be more ignorant of the world's reality. it hurts me. and i feel so helpless. of course, living in Guatemala City it is harder for me, than for you, to forget. still, i live in a bubble. a see-through bubble though...
logo

yo no sé nada

Users Status

You are not logged in.

Recent Updates

Muchisimas gracias!
Hola animalamororum! Muchas gracias por tus comentarios...
rocio - 25. Feb, 11:28
Muchisimas gracias!
Hola animalamororum! Muchas gracias por tus comentarios...
rocio - 25. Feb, 11:28
Escritora
Que bien escribe. Yo leo bastante, pero rara vez termino...
animalamororum - 25. Jan, 01:02
RWT
Disculpe la pregunta, el texto inicial firmado RWT,...
animalamororum - 25. Jan, 00:54
Hoy 24 de Enero 2011
Hoy 24 de Enero 2011, vivi un dia en que concluyo esto...
animalamororum - 25. Jan, 00:50

Links

currently reading


Andres Oppenheimer
Cuentos chinos

About the books

Search

 

Status

Online for 6584 days
Last update: 14. Jul, 18:09

Credits


Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog